iGap is an open source project. Anyone can study our API, Protocol and Source Code and make an informed decision.
1. Sharing data
We never share your data with anyone. No.
2. Storing data
iGap only stores the data it needs to function properly — for as long as you want iGap to function.
iGap is a cloud service. We store messages, photos, videos and documents from your cloud chats on our servers, so that you can access your data from any of your devices anytime and use our instant server search to quickly access your messages from waaay back. All data is stored heavily encrypted and the encryption keys in each case are stored in several other DCs in different jurisdictions. This way local engineers or physical intruders cannot get access to user data.
iGap uses phone numbers as unique identifiers, so that it is easy for you to switch from other messaging apps (SMS, WhatsApp, etc.) and retain your social graph. We ask your permission before syncing your contacts.
We store your contacts in order to notify you as soon as one of your contacts signs up for iGap and to properly display names in notifications. We only need the number and name (first and last) for this to work and store no other data about your contacts.
Your e-mail address
When you enable 2-step-verification for your account, you can opt to set up a password recovery email. This address will only be used to send you a password recovery code, if you forget it. That's right: no marketing or “we miss you” bullshit.
3. Deleting data
If you would like to delete your account, you can do this on the deactivation page. Deleting your account permanently removes all your messages, groups and contacts. This action must be confirmed via your iGap account and cannot be undone.
Everything you delete is deleted forever. Except for cats.
We never delete your funny cat pictures, we love them too much.
When you delete a message, you delete it from your message history. This means that a copy still stays on the server as part of your partner‘s message history. As soon as your partner deletes it too, it’s gone forever. iGap is a non-commercial project and we value the disk space on our servers greatly.
Messages in Secret Chats can be ordered to self-destruct. As soon as such a message is read (2 checks appear), the countdown starts. When the time is out, both devices participating in a secret chat are instructed to delete the message (photo, video, etc.).
iGap is not a commercial organization and we value our disk space greatly. If you stop using iGap and do not login for at least 6 months, your account will be deleted along with all messages, media, contacts and every other piece of data you store in the iGap cloud. You can change the exact period after which your inactive account will self-destruct in Settings.